I Make It Myself – Cream of Whatever Soup

I have about a billion recipes that call for condensed cream of chicken (or mushroom) soup.  While it is not a very expensive pantry staple, I’m always looking for ways to do things for less or easy ways to make things myself.  When I ran out of cream of whatever soup, I decided to give making-it-myself a try. 

The recipe itself is pretty easy, and included all things I already had on hand.  Basically, you mix together:

2c powdered milk

3/4 c cornstarch

1/4 c instant chicken bouillon (I actually crushed some cubes I had)

2 tbsp dried onion flakes

1 tsp basil leaves

1 tsp thyme

1/2 tsp pepper

I put them in a mason jar and stuck it in my cupboard until needed.  Well, Hawaiian Haystacks (do you know what those are?) were on the menu tonight, and I needed to use my new mix to make the gravy.  So I combined:

1/3 c mix and 1 1/4 c cold water.  I wisked (hmmmm…not sure that’s a word) them together until the lumps were gone and then brought to a boil so that it could thicken.

It was so yummy.  Much, much, much better than that condensed canned stuff.

Well, a few weeks later a casserole I was going to make needed some too.  I decided to do a daring experiment.  I decided not to reconstitute before putting it in the casserole.  I added the 1/3 c mix to the rest of the ingredients (like sour cream) that I was prepping for my casserole dish and then added only enough water to give me the consistency that casserole needed.  You  know what, it works great.  I would never have known that I didn’t reconstitute it and thicken it first. 

Apparently, to make cream of mushroom, you boil it with some mushrooms for the flavor.  I, myself, have not tried it. 

I have also noticed that WinCo does sell a cream soup base in their bulk section.  I would imagine it works about the same…but if you have the ingredients already on hand, who needs an extra trip to the store?

See the other things I Make Myself Here.

This post is linked to Frugal Friday

3 thoughts on “I Make It Myself – Cream of Whatever Soup

  1. I’m excited to try this sometime! I’m all about making it myself, and I usually skip recipes that call for cream-of-whatever. Now I think I might give it a shot :-). Thanks for sharing. I guess cream of celery would be cooked with some celery?

Leave a Reply

