Reading in April

April felt like a slower month then it came to the number of books I read, but I still got 4 books finished, bringing me to a total of 17 books read in 2010.  My goal, as you probably know by now, is 42.

14 – Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte

I love the Bronte sisters, and I have yet to read one of their books that I did not enjoy.  I also really love Anne’s books, although she is considered by many to not be as fabulous as either of her sisters.  Agnes Grey was a charming story about a governess (it’s a Victorian novel, what else would it be about) and her adventures in teaching and, like any good Bronte novel, eventually finding love.  It was well worth reading.

15 – The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

My sister loaned me this book, citing that it was one of her favorites and that I ought to read it, since I as of yet had not.   I finally took the opportunity to do so.  In the beginning, I must say that I was not that impressed by it.  However, by the time I reached the 1/2 way point, I was hooked and found  the metaphor fascinating and one I need to reread about a billion times. 

16 – The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

This book – I really did not like.  There were parts of it that were interesting, parts of it that made me think and that I enjoyed.  But, end the end, I really found it a book that I could not stand and that I really disliked.  So much so, that I can’t even think of anything to write about it. It was dark, it was strange, and it was dark.  Oh, I said that already?  Well, that about sums it up.

17 – Emily of New Moon by Lucy M. Montgomery 

After reading The Golden Compass, I needed something completely different.  I decided to start a L.M. Montgomery trilogy I have had sitting on shelves from sometime now.  This book also took me a while to get into, but about 1/3 of the way through, I was hooked and great friends with Emily.  Emily, like Anne Shirley, is an orphan.  She moves in with 2 maiden aunts where she lives vividly and discovers a passion for writing.  She doesn’t get into scrapes like Anne, but her life is full of colorful characters and exciting events.  It was a great read. 

My book list is always growing – and so I must ask…did you read anything great recently?  Please let me know if you did!

See all the books I’ve read in 2010 here. 

See what others are reading at lifeasmom

6 thoughts on “Reading in April

  1. Oh, I’m so delighted that you liked Le Petit Prince. Now that you’ve read it, I’d like it back, please… I have missed him:

    “It is here that the little prince appeared on Earth, and disappeared. [. . .] And, if you should come upon this spot, please do not hurry on. Wait for a time, exactly under the star. Then, if a little man appears who laughs, who has golden hair and who refuses to answer questions, you will know who he is. If this should happen, please comfort me. Send me word that he has come back. “

    • I keep forgetting to bring it when I go to Mom’s! I’ve meant to the last 3 times I’ve been there. For sure, I’ll bring it with everything else this weekend, along with most of the other books.

  2. Ah! How I dream of having time to sit and read. Alas, not yet! I’m afraid my books are not as fun but I love the education of them! Glad you found a new friend in Emily, Anne, and a Prince. Good examples for Miss E. xoxo

  3. I’m working on A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by mark Twain, and i’m really enjoying it. I mean, REALLY enjoying it. I chuckle quite frequently. I’m maybe a quarter through it, so i hope it keeps on being delightful.

    I read Don Quixote by Cervantes about a year ago (super boring, not a very invigorating read), and this is really adding light onto why, and how, Quixote could have been such an ignoramus in his adventures.

    So i guess i like it for both its entertaining and historical elements. Or something like that. :-)

  4. I’m not surprised by your reaction to the Golden Compass. I have not read it myself, but it was written by an atheist who wants to prove religion as some kind of mass delusion or fairy tale.

    I have been looking for good books for my kids to read. One of my favorite stories that I have read lately is by George MacDonald. Have you read the Princess and the Goblin? It is so refreshing after having the world’s version of princesses crammed down our throats. Princesses are not supposed to be vain, selfish and silly girls but brave, strong and honest. It is a responsibility, not merely a priviledge. I plan to have my girls read them as soon as they are able. I think Emily will be ready for them next year!

  5. The Little Prince is one of my all-time favorite books. It is a little weird at first, but once you get into it, it is so good! I’m so glad you liked it! :) The first time I read it was in French, in my high school French class. I recently read Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom – it is SO GOOD. A very short, quick read, too. Let me know what you think when you read it! Another book on my “to read someday list” is Joan of Ark by Mark Twain. I love his stuff, and her. Have you read it? Apparently it was Mark Twain’s favorite book he ever wrote.

Leave a Reply

