I Make It Myself: Chocolate Syrup

When I first ran across this recipe for Chocolate Syrup in The Tightwad Gazette, I was anxious to try it…especially since we’d just run out and I already had all the ingredients on hand.  What could be better!

1/2 c Cocoa

1 c Water

2 c Sugar

1/8 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Vanilla

Mix cocoa and water in a saucepan.  Heat until all the cocoa powder is dissolved. Add the sugar and continue to heat until it is dissolved.  Boil for 3 min.  Now, add the salt and the vanilla.  Stir.  Cool and store in the fridge.  Keeps for several months. 

We’ve enjoyed having it this month.  I do wish I’d kept the bottle the original stuff was in, rather than messing with the mason jar.  And, upon using it, I do have to say that I think 2 cups of sugar is too much and makes it too sweet.  But, I’m a dark chocolate girl, so that probably has something to do with it. 

Enjoy your homemade chocolaty goodness!

_________
This post is linked to Frugal Friday. 
4 thoughts on “I Make It Myself: Chocolate Syrup

  1. The chocolate sauce looks yummy! I don’t buy chocolate syrup, so the kids would be very happy if I made some. um…yeah….so would I! lol

    Thanks for the recipe!

  2. thanks for posting! I LOVE learning how to make things from scratch! We have lots of ice cream toppings at the moment, as i’ve kinda cut back on our late night ice-cream binges and certainly on the toppings… but i KNOW this will come in handy once our stash is depleted…. ;-)

  3. Thanks for the recipe, Kim! I And for the tip about the sugar – I like my chocolate dark, too. :) I’m excited to try it!

Leave a Reply

