I Make it Myself: Cleaning Products

I used to have a small cupboard in a former apartment dedicated to cleaning “stuff”.  From the vacuum to drain clog stuff (don’t you love my technical terms?) to glass cleaner, it was all in there.  It took up a ton of space!

Well, I have since discovered that space could have been reclaimed because when it comes down to it, I only really need 2 things on my cleaning list.  Best thing about these two magic items:  they are very inexpensive, non-toxic, and about as green as you get. 

Bring on the Vinegar and the Baking Soda!

Oh wait – you only use them to cook?  Well, they are good for so much more!

Vinegar

Fabric Softener:  I use distilled white vinegar as my fabric softener in my washing machine.  I use about 2 tbsp per load, maybe a bit more with towels.  It works for me.  As an added not, the vinegar will help keep your washing machine nice and clean.

Mold and Mildew, and other icky things killer:  Vinegar is very acidic and very few little organisms can live in its presence.  I have read that it also kills most germs and bacteria, so therefore has disinfectant properties. 

Baking Soda

Scouring:  Baking Soda makes an effective, yet gentle scouring powder.  I love to use it on my stove as it makes it super clean, and yet wipes off really easily.   I have also used this with great success on dishes that needed more elbow grease than I wanted to give. 

Deodorizer:  Baking Soda has a perfectly balanced pH, which leads it to absorb and neutralize both acidic and basic things, including smells.  No wonder they market it as something to put in your fridge to keep it smelling nice.

Countertop Stains:  I recently let a carton of strawberries sit on my counter too long…oops.  I now have a nice, rectangular pink stain.  A little bit of baking soda on a damp rag solved the problem.  I also noticed an ink mark on the counter, and a little baking soda on it took care of that, too.  (I did read not to use baking soda on granite, as it might damage it…just fyi). 

Combined

I haven’t tried this, but I have read that you can use the famous “volcanic” reaction of vinegar and baking soda to clean and deodorize a drain.  Apparently, the baking soda goes in first, and then you follow with the vinegar.  Allow that fun reaction to happen, and then rinse with warm water.  What could be easier!

So, there you go – my favorite cleaners that make life simple.  The best part?  I never have to worry when my daughter is around when I’m cleaning, because there is no way baking soda and vinegar are going to harm her. 

____________________________
This post is linked to Frugal Friday
4 thoughts on “I Make it Myself: Cleaning Products

  1. Hi there! Niki here, dropping in from over at Free 2 Be Frugal. I really enjoyed your Frugal Friday post…I never thought of using vinegar to clean the inside of my house. I use it to do windows, so why not?
    :)

  2. Pingback: What do I make from scratch? « Our Simple Life

Leave a Reply

