February’s Reading

In February I read 3 books – bringing my total up to 8 books!  Only 34 more to go…

#6 – Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

See my thoughts on it here.

#7 – The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

I had first heard about this book from my best friend, Anita.   Then, I proceeded to hear about it in many other places.  I started keeping a look out for it at thrift stores and used bookstores, but had no luck.  I finally had some swagbucks to spend, so I used them and bought the book.  I am glad I did.  I have never been an exceedingly financial literate person, I know enough to balance a checkbook and that we shouldn’t have debt except for a house and education, but beyond that…I learned a ton.  We were already in process of trying to pay off my student loan debt before my husband’s goes into repayment, and this book gave me encouragement to get it done. 

#8 – Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfield

I remember hearing this book first mentioned in You Got Mail.    It is one of three “shoe books”, and I have long wanted to read it.  I was thrilled to find it at DI (Deseret Industries - my preferred local thrift store).  Before I read it, I ended up loaning it to Gem, the 13-year-old I tutor.  She is a ballerina herself, and she quite enjoyed the book.  I read it after it was returned and have to admit I probably would have enjoyed it more as a child than as an adult.   Even though I knew I was reading a  YA read, I found the end a little pat and a little too easy.  It probably wouldn’t have bothered me as a girl, so it’s still worth reading.

And so the reading continues.  I’ll be back in March and we’ll see how I’ve progressed in my 42 books this year goal!  I’m hoping  I don’t lose steam…

For all of the books I’ve read so far in 2010 – click here

To see what others have been reading, visit Life As Mom.

3 thoughts on “February’s Reading

Leave a Reply

